If you want to clear your Cash App transaction history, there is no in-app way to do it. If you really want to permanently delete your transaction history, you need to completely delete your Cash App account. Here’s how.
Before you rush to delete your Cash App account, there are a few things you should be aware of first. When you delete your account, it is permanent at first. There is no option to temporarily disable it like you would find on many social media platforms.
TIED TOGETHER: How to delete a Venmo account
Deleting your account will permanently delete your #cashtag, account history and all related account data. You can always create a new account, but Cash App considers this account as a completely different account. There is a twist, however. Account history will only be permanently deleted, at least for a period of time she. Cash App states that as a financial institution, they are required by law to maintain some of your transaction records and account information. What exactly this information is, they do not say.
Finally, you may want to download your account history before deleting your Cash App just in case you need to refer back to it in the future, as there is no way to retrieve that information if the account is gone.
You must access your Cash App account via a desktop browser to download your account history. Launch any browser of your choice, go to Cash app website, and then sign in to your account. After logging in, click on “Statements” in the upper right corner of your dashboard.
Next, click “Export CSV” at the top of the drop-down menu that appears.
Your account history will then be downloaded as a CSV file.
TIED TOGETHER: What is a CSV file and how do I open it?
On the next screen, tap “Support”.
On the next screen, a short list of high-level topics is displayed. At the bottom of that list, tap Something Else.
A long list of subtopics will appear. At the bottom of this list, tap on “Account Settings”.
Another list of options will appear. From this list, tap on “Close your Cash App Account”.
A message will appear on the next screen stating what will happen if you close your account. Read everything and if you’re sure you want to permanently delete your account, tap “Confirm”.
Your account is now permanently deleted.
When your Cash App account is deleted, your transaction history will also be deleted. Don’t forget to delete the mobile app from your iPhone or Android.
But don’t stop there. If you have a PayPal account and want to get rid of your transaction history there, you’ll need to take a similar approach.
TIED TOGETHER: How to Delete Your PayPal Account (and Transaction History)
This article was previously published on Source link