Have you canceled your Netflix account or are you planning to? There are two ways to break out of the company’s chains. You can cancel or go one step further and delete your Netflix account. Termination does not mean that your account will cease to exist immediately. Here we show you how to end your relationship with Netflix by deleting your account.
Canceling vs Deleting Your Netflix Account: What’s the Difference?
Canceling and deleting your Netflix account might sound the same, but it’s not. First, canceling your Netflix account means you will no longer be able to watch movies and TV shows on the platform after your current billing cycle ends. The good thing is that Netflix no longer charges you monthly unless you restart your subscription. However, your account is still available on Netflix’s servers and you can still log in.
On the other hand, deleting your Netflix account means your data will be removed from the company’s servers. After your account has been deleted, you will no longer be able to log in. And if you want to subscribe to Netflix in the future, you’ll need to create a new account.
However, it’s good to note that Netflix will delete your account after ten months simply by canceling your subscription. Unfortunately, unlike deleting your Netflix profile, account deletion is not a quick and straightforward process.
How to delete your Netflix account after canceling your subscription
If you wish to delete your Netflix account, you must first cancel your subscription if you still have one. There are different ways to cancel your Netflix subscription, depending on whether you subscribed directly or through a third party. Luckily, we’ve covered all the ways to cancel your Netflix subscription — on different devices.
When you are done with that, follow these steps to delete your account:
- Contact Netflix Support by sending an email to [email protected] You must use the same email address that you used for your Netflix account.
- Use “Request account deletion” as the subject of the email.
You may have to wait a few days before hearing from the company. Keep in mind that if you request to delete your account before the end of your current billing cycle after termination, Netflix will delete your account after billing expires. Otherwise, if you want the company to delete your account immediately, be explicit about it in your email.
Does Netflix keep your information after account deletion?
Netflix will delete your account, but it won’t delete any information related to you. A Netflix support page says so“We retain limited information after account deletion for lawful reasons, including for fraud prevention, billing purposes and to enforce our Terms of Service.” The limited information in question includes your email address, device identifier and your payment details (in encrypted form).
Delete accounts that you no longer need
If you no longer use a service, delete your account. Whether it’s your social network, streaming service, or any other account, just let go and delete it. Whether it takes more than a few clicks or requires human intervention, as is the case with Netflix, do it.
This article was previously published on Source link